Talk to an agent: (904) 628-2657
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

How Should You Use Your Auto Insurance in Florida in a No-Fault Law State?

Florida was the second state which took no-fault automobile insurance plan in 1972. The plan had to quickly compensate injured parties regardless of fault after the accident. The Florida Supreme Court in 1974 enumerated what to what the no-fault law was intended to. It was intended to make premiums for auto insurance in Florida be lower and assure that the injured person will be refund by her or his own insurer regardless of any fault who caused a crash. It was also intended to make the number of law suits to the court less with the help of adopting this type of auto insurance system.

Florida has the No Fault system of auto insurance or “Personal Injury Protection Insurance PIP)” No Fault insurance covers you all the expenses regardless whether you or somebody else made an accident with the vehicle. Every person who lives in Florida or stay there more than 90 days per year and had any 4 or more wheeled vehicles should comply for personal injury protection and property damage liability auto insurance coverage in Florida.

In Florida $10,000 is minimum coverage Personal Injury Protection. The price is the same for Property Damage Liability coverage. If you were involved in a car accident with certain offenses, you should also have Bodily Injury Liability Coverage. In Florida, Bodily Injury Liability coverage refunds you for injury, death or other when you made an accident involving your own car. This coverage covers expenses for your family members even for the person who with your permission was driving your car and made an accident.

If you are involved in an automobile crash you should not confront with the third party personally. Save your time and let your insurance company solve this question. After the accident happened, report your insurance company about the car crash as soon as possible. If you would like to determine what to do to the other party, file a report to your insurance company. Be sure that the officer agent will put all the necessary details on the crash report.

If you are not able to contact to your insurance agency ask the officer to make a copy of the final car crash report for you.

In case when policyholder does not maintain any personal injury coverage, the authorities may suspend your license or car registration. There is a need to mention about optional coverage in Florida. You can purchase coverage such as: comprehensive, medical payments, bodily injury liability, accidental death and dismemberment, uninsured motorist, towing, medical payments, collision and rental reimbursement. You should know that you can’t get your auto insurance without taking any coverage for it.