Talk to an agent: (904) 628-2657
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

A Guide to Have Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements When Processing Auto Insurance in Florida

The auto insurance laws and requirements are pretty direct in Florida. The auto insurance law needs drivers in Florida to carry liability insurance on their cars. The collision, comprehensive and other types of coverage are optional.

The following are the Florida auto insurance requirements according to the Florida DMV:

1. Minimum $20,000 per single injured person per accident for the bodily injury.

2. Minimum $40,000 per accident with two or more injured parties for bodily injury.

3. Minimum $15,000 per accident for property damage.

This means that if you are in an accident in which you are the one found guilty, your auto insurance in Florida needs to cover $40,000 for all injured parties or a minimum of $20,000 for single individuals. You will also need to cover $15,000 for the damage you cause on someone else’s property such as their vehicle. These are only the minimum coverage amount. Choosing the higher limits is advised if you want to insure yourself against further liability. For example if you cause a $40,000 worth of property damage in an accident but you only carry the minimum, you will need to cover the rest of the $25,000 out of your own pocket. This is not a debt that most people can swing with.

The Proof of the Liability Insurance

Florida requires drivers to put forward the proof of insurance in a variety of situations to back up the financial responsibility among its residents. In case of if you are directed by a police officer to pull over, automatically he or she will first ask to see your driver’s license and your insurance card. You will get a ticket if you do not have the proof of the insurance.

Without the proof of the insurance, Florida residents will also unable to register their vehicles and acquire a vehicle inspection or renew the driver’s licenses. The reasons these laws are put in a place partly is to stop residents from getting insurance only for a brief period time for example in order to renew the registration but the cancelling the policy later on.

Moving to Florida

The Florida auto liability laws will let newcomers a 30-day period to purchase a new insurance for your vehicles if you are new in the state. The clock starts right after you have a full-time job or opened up the residency. So, it is best to take care of the cover paper as quickly as you can.

Plus, you must keep your liability insurance card in your vehicle at all times. By doing this, you will be able to prove financial responsibility if you are directed to pull over by a police officer. If possible, you have to keep a copy of the insurance card in your vehicle. You can keep it in the glove compartment or in your wallet. This will help you in case your vehicle is being stolen or otherwise it will be unavailable when you need a proof.